IGNORED

Booktopia enters voluntary administration

everybump

Darryl

It seems like there are a lot of companies going under at the moment :classic_sad:

Princess Peach

Well, looks like the book I had on back order isn’t coming anytime soon then.

• 100 1
  • Sad 4

Crombek

Kindle Unlimited/Amazon has basically sunk the entire book market. 

• Like 1
  • 100 5
  • Angry 1

Seayork2002
40 minutes ago, Darryl said:

It seems like there are a lot of companies going under at the moment :classic_sad:

in the last 10 years or so near us in NW Sydney there has been a lot of empty shops, in the last year even more so

• 100 1

pelagic

It's also audio books and the fact that lots of kids don't read anymore. 

• Like 1

Kiwi Bicycle
16 minutes ago, Crombek said:

I used to work in the book industry. The writing was on the wall over 20 years ago. First it was the huge bookstores like Borders killing off the smaller shops ( only really good independents left), then it was online booksellers who had no shop overheads, only basic warehousing, then digital publishing. Now we are seeing the huge online ohysical booksellers go. Cost of living, the huge overheads of holding stock ( and even if you do an "Amazon" of just in time ordering from publishers, you risk losing sales to people who don't want to wait, or publishers selling out their stock).

It's an evolution. I doubt print books will die anytime soon, but the whole industry has been changing hugely in the last 20- 25 years.

There's actually nothing wrong with digital publishing,  there's books now available that would of never made the cut to publish physically, plus authors have more control and make more money, especially if they self publish, or use an indie digital publisher. Amazon isn't the only cause, just part of it.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

CrankyM
Posted (edited)
33 minutes ago, Crombek said: