IGNORED

Hints for a learner driver and her nervous teacher?

Gumbette

Gumbette

DD now has her L's, I'm so nervous that all we're doing is driving up & down our culdesac at 15kms / hr.  Is this normal for the first few lessons?  I have booked her a lesson at the end of May (first date available), but I'm so nervous, and she seems bloody terrible. She has no idea about how hard to accelerate, and doesn't seem to be looking in the correct direction when reversing.  Today I asked her to pull away from the curb and she headed straight for a bollard in front of the car without even trying to turn the wheel.    I don't remember being this hopeless when I started, or maybe I'm an awful teacher.  Doesn't help that the car is only 3 months old either so I'm even more nervous.

• Care 2

screm
Posted (edited)

My DD has been learning to drive for a few months now and I'm still extremely nervous with her driving. She forgets to look sometimes before turning into the next road, she still can't work out which way to turn the wheel when reversing out of the garage or parking space to avoid hitting car or bin at the side. She's had about 8 lessons with an instructor. She panics very easily but she has Autistic traits, severe anxiety and is being assessed for inattentive ADHD. 

I got my license first go after 5 lessons. DD is going take months of lessons. 

First 3 times she drove I took her to the uni car park near us on a Sunday afternoon so just going forward, indicating, turning and going around the little roundabout & stopping with no other cars about.

Edited by screm
add info
  • Like 5

little lion

My mum was a nervous teacher so I’m glad she didn’t do many early lessons with me. Going to an instructor was helpful for me and having lessons with Mum again once I sort of knew what I was doing was better. I think your daughter will pick up on your nerves about her skill and the new car and it’ll feed her. 

Julie3Girls